1. Hey guyz. Welcome to the All New Phlatforum!

The Phlatforum is a place we can all hang out and

have fun sharing our RC adventures!

2. Dismiss Notice

Can't achieve a counterbore.

Discussion in 'SketchUcam Help' started by Roy Rogers, Jul 31, 2014.

1. Roy Rogers

Roy Rogers New Member

I'm a very newbie.

I downloaded and have been trying SketchUcam. It is very interesting to me. My previous (limited) experience is using AutoSketch to create DXF files, and importing those into Lazycam. I had the version of Lazycam that comes with Mach, so I don't have cutter comp. or anything. So the SketchUcam looks very appealing to me.

One of the first things I wanted to try was creating a counterbore. This would (I guess) require a pocket that has a through hole.

So I made a little square, lifted it .5", then I made a hole through it in SketchUp. Now I added a slightly larger concentric hole, and recessed it .25". Then I tried to use the SketchUcam pocket tool to turn that recess into a pocket.

But I found I can only create a pocket if my object doesn't have a through hole within the pocket?

Am I doing something incorrectly? I don't want to just create counterbores but sometimes I want to create a 3" long slot (.25" wide) that has a recess of .25" all around. This allows me to add a recessed slighting machine screw.

So I'm thinking I need pockets with through "slots," but like I said I'm a newbie and maybe approaching this incorrectly.

TIA for any help.

2. swarfer

swarfer Moderator Staff Member

Hi
    Your first mistake was to create things that are 'lifted'. SketchUcam does not work like that.
    It is designed around FLAT drawings and adding cut lines around or inside those outlines.
    (though it does have a 'generate 3D' mode that does a very rudimentary 3D carving, do not use this if the article needs to be the right size!)

To do what you want to do, you can approach it from a number of directions.