1. Hey guyz. Welcome to the All New Phlatforum!

The Phlatforum is a place we can all hang out and

have fun sharing our RC adventures!

2. Dismiss Notice

First LiPo Incident

Discussion in 'General Talk Forum' started by rcav8r, Mar 12, 2012.

1. rcav8r

rcav8r Moderator Staff Member

Well I had my first LiPo mis-hap. Blew the pack right apart...my fault, but no damage done.
    I've been using LiPos since about 2004ish.

This was a partially charged pack from last season. I put it on my Astro charger to top it off. The charger first thought it was a 3cell pack (Which it was), but apparently switched to 4 cell. With this charger you are SUPPOSED to stick around and check to make sure it stays on the number if cells where it is supposed to on a partially charged pack. As this has never been a problem before, and since it was my first time out this year, I kinda forgot. We were all sitting on a bench about 20 foot from the thing, and heard what sounded like a muffled shotgun. We all immediately looked over, and I paid particular attention to my charging packs. No smoke, no flame. Nothing. Curiosity got the better of me so I eventually walked over. That's when I discovered the blown pack. I grabbed it and tossed it in the gravel turn-around. It hissed like mad, and balooned up, but never really got all that hot. After it was done with it's hissey fit, it was back to normal....well except for a hole blown out of the side of it.