1. Hey guyz. Welcome to the All New Phlatforum!

The Phlatforum is a place we can all hang out and

have fun sharing our RC adventures!

2. Dismiss Notice

How do I change the default Z axis feed rate.

Discussion in 'SketchUcam Help' started by James Leach, Mar 18, 2015.

1. James Leach

James Leach New Member

Hi everyone,

A first time poster here so a little history, I'm a very old retired engineer looking to keep up with new technology but with very limited computer knowledge (learning fast), I decided to build a Prusa i3 3d printer which runs perfectly and wanted a cnc router to compliment it and chose a Portal cyclone. I printerd the parts and built the machine, it uses an Arduino Uno with Protoneer shield running GRBL 9G firmware and GRBL 3.6.1 controller.

I decided on Sketchucam to generate the G code as I'm using Sketchup on the cad side, everthing works great apart from one thing, the default Z axis feed rate set in the generated g code set at 100mm/min.

X and Y will only travel at the Z default rate after every Z axis movement until the next change in direction, this becomes a real pain in the butt at every tab doubling the time taken to finish an item.

Can someone Please tell me how I can change the default setting or stop it from acting on other movements.

Be careful with the tech terminology as I'm not fully up to speed on those, layman's would do fine.

James.

2. swarfer

swarfer Moderator Staff Member

Hiya

Sketchucam uses 2 feed rates set on the Parameters Dialog on the second line down
    Feed Rate and Plunge Rate
    Feedrate is the normal cutting feed rate used for all X and Y moves.
    Plunge rate is the vertical rate used for all Z plunge moves, which includes drilling holes and plunging after tabs

So, here is an example of Gcode generated from a simple 50x50mm square with a tab at top and bottom.
    I will add some comments to the lines to explain what it is doing......