1. Hey guyz. Welcome to the All New Phlatforum!

The Phlatforum is a place we can all hang out and

have fun sharing our RC adventures!

2. Dismiss Notice

Implementing toolpaths generated by phlatscript

Discussion in 'SketchUcam Help' started by gasmasher, May 23, 2009.

1. gasmasher

gasmasher New Member

I am working on a couple of patches to PhlatscripT and while implementing circular interpolation (cutting smooth arcs, G2/3) codes I had to rework some other parts. While rewriting I made sure it would be easier to add (semi)intelligent toolpath selection when generating gcode when I got around to it.

I am not a CAD/CAM/CNC person by trade and have picked things up as I built my CNC machine. My question for the next potential patch is how should toolpath selection work? In the latest release it relies on the order in which the phlat cuts were made in Sketchup and that is superseded by grouping items in the order you want them cut. Would you rather continue grouping items manually or let the code figure out a mostly optimal path?

2. rjarois

rjarois Moderator Staff Member

gas, now we talkin.... true circle interpolation....that would be cool to get rid of the jerkey line turns...just build it into the phlat code and leave the way we do it now except ya get rid of the monkey radius millin. randy.

3. gasmasher

gasmasher New Member

g2/3 code already works ;) The thread I posted earlier about testing the gcode file in Mach was generated with phlatscript and my patches. Thanks to 3DMON for checking it for me. I haven't even asked Mark & Trish to start testing but that will happen as they have some free time.

4. Anonymous

Anonymous New Member