1. Hey guyz. Welcome to the All New Phlatforum!

The Phlatforum is a place we can all hang out and

have fun sharing our RC adventures!

2. Dismiss Notice

Phlat Motor Boat

Discussion in 'Ships' started by Grabo, Aug 29, 2010.

1. Grabo

Grabo New Member

Hi Guys
    We dont seem to have many boats so i have put this little boat together its my first design and enjoyed designing it in sketchup the skins 1/8" Depron for the hull will have to be made free hand as i could not get them to flatten properly but should be no problem the whole boat is made of 1/4" depron and hull skins 1/8"with brown paper glued over. the whole boat should be vanished (water based) to seal and painted. i have not shown motor, battery, radio location as i will leave that to the builder. If you find any Mistakes please tell me as i am still learning and would love the feed back. Attached files Phlat Motor Boat.zip (477.6 KB)Â [​IMG]

2. 3DMON

3DMON Moderator Staff Member

Nice work Grabo.
    I think I might build this one day.

3. kram242

kram242 Administrator Staff Member

Great job Grabo! Thank you for posting this I have wanting to build a boat.
    Mark and Trish

4. xtremeRCpilot

xtremeRCpilot Member

Thanks Grabo, my kids will love this :)

John

5. 7up

7up Moderator Staff Member

Thanks, I've never built a foam boat but just might give this one a try. I don't have any 1/8-3mm depron but some foam meat trays should substitute nicely.

-Buk

6. Grabo

Grabo New Member

Thanks Guys
    Not really into boats but seemed to enjoy doing this one just seemed to come together fine. the hull could be made of 1/16" Balsa but wanted to see if an all foam boat would work i cut some out for the local school and the kids love assembling them.

7. AnyAirRc

AnyAirRc Moderator

That is so cool! You have inspired me to design a boat as my next design.

8. kram242

YES! :mrgreen:

9. asc

asc New Member

Hi Guys,